AHRC PhD Studentship at Queen Mary, University of London (syntax, semantics, morphology, experimental linguistics)

  • 16 Dec 2011 12:48
    Message # 775207

    The Department of Linguistics (School of Languages, Linguistics and Film) at Queen Mary, University of London has one AHRC Doctoral Studentship to award to a student embarking on a PhD in the department starting in September 2012. The award comprises three years' full-time fees and maintenance.

    Interested applicants should submit an application for doctoral study to the Department of Linguistics, Queen Mary, University of London by 31 January 2012. Applications received after this deadline will still be considered for acceptance to the departmental PhD programme but will be ineligible for AHRC funding.

    We welcome proposals in all AHRC-fundable areas of Linguistics. Students interested in theoretical syntax, morphology, and semantics and the relations between these and/or experimental approaches to these topics are particularly encouraged to apply for this award.

    Applications can be completed online or submitted via hard-copy. Full information on applying for a PhD in the Department of Linguistics is available on the School's website: http://www.sllf.qmul.ac.uk/postgraduate/#apply. Further information is also available on the QMUL website: http://www.qmul.ac.uk/postgraduate/funding/scholarships2012/index.html.

    Before applying, you should establish contact with an appropriate supervisor in the department, sending her/him full details of your academic background and proposed topic (http://www.sllf.qmul.ac.uk/linguistics/people/teaching/index.html). Once you have secured an informal agreement to supervise, you should develop your PhD proposal with the supervisor's guidance. For additional information about the department, including details of postgraduate provision and departmental events, see the department's website (http://www.sllf.qmul.ac.uk/linguistics/postgraduate/index.html).

    AHRC studentships may be awarded to cover tuition fees and a maintenance grant for UK residents (both UK citizens and EU nationals). EU nationals not resident in the UK are eligible for a fees only award. Non-EU nationals are not eligible for AHRC awards, with the exception of persons who have been granted Indefinite Leave to Remain and who can demonstrate a relevant connection to the UK. For more information, see http://www.ahrc.ac.uk.

    For further details, contact:

    Ms Sharon Bernor (Postgraduate Administrator)


    +44 (0)20 7882 8332

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software