Linguistics Association of Great Britain Annual Meeting 2004

University of Surrey Roehampton

Second Circular and Programme

The 2004 Annual Meeting of the Linguistics Association of Great Britain will be held at the University of Surrey Roehampton, from 30th August to 2nd September. The local organiser will be Judith Broadbent ( This is the first meeting following the new four-day pattern, which was recently adopted by the Association at its annual general meeting.

[download programme] [download booking form]

Special events

•  The Henry Sweet Lecture 2004 entitled “'Unborrowable' areal traits” will be delivered by Marianne Mithun (University of California, Santa Barbara) on the evening of 30th August.

•  There will also be a Workshop on 'Contact, borrowability, and typology', related to the Henry Sweet lecture, and organised by Yaron Matras (University of Manchester) and April McMahon (University of Sheffield) on the afternoon of 30th August. Contributors are Yaron Matras, April McMahon, Marianne Mithun and Thomas Stolz.

•  The Linguistics Association Lecture 2004 on 'Null subjects, ellipsis and empty categories' will be delivered by Anders Holmberg (University of Durham) on 2nd September.

•  There will also be a special, themed session on the topic of 'Null subjects, ellipsis and empty categories', directly before the Linguistics Association Lecture, and a 'pre-session' on 1st September.

•  There will be a Language Tutorial on Michif, given by Peter Bakker (University of Aarhus).

•  There will be a session on 'Teaching linguistics to students of Modern Languages' organised by the LAGB's Education Committee, featuring Paul Rowlett (University of Salford) and Florence Myles (University of Southampton), and chaired by Billy Clark (University of Middlesex).

•  A wine party will be held on the evening of 30th August, hosted by Cambridge University Press.


The meeting will be held at the University of Surrey Roehampton, Froebel College. The University of Surrey Roehampton is part of the Federal University of Surrey, together with the University of Surrey Guildford . Roehampton is made up of four colleges set in beautiful parkland: Digby Stuart, Froebel, Southlands and Whitelands. Froebel College was founded in 1892 by a group of people committed to a radical reform of educational methods. Part of the college is situated in a Grade II* listed building (Grove House) which is set in four acres of beautiful heritage gardens.

Accommodation: will be provided on site at Froebel; 100 single rooms with en suite facilities are available.

Travel: Roehampton is situated in south London. London Heathrow and Gatwick are the most convenient airports and the nearest train station is Barnes. Trains run very regularly from London Waterloo station to Barnes, and London buses and the Underground connect with USR and/or Waterloo; the number 72 and 265 buses stop outside Barnes station and the college. Froebel College is part of the USR's Roehampton Lane Campus – please consult the directions at USR's website, at, which gives full details of how to reach Froebel (as part of the Roehampton Lane Campus) by train, car, or bus, with printable maps. NB: the first day of the conference is a Bank Holiday in England and Wales, which may slightly affect the frequency of public transport – you may need to consider this when making travel plans.

Parking: parking will be available at Froebel College.

Registration: will take place from 12 o'clock on Monday 30th August at Froebel College.

Bar: a bar will be available on campus during the conference.

Food: please indicate if you are vegetarian or have any other dietary requirements on the booking form below.

Bookings: bookings should be sent to Judith Broadbent at the address given on the booking form.

Early booking discount: there is a discount on bookings received by 9th August 2004 .

Guests and non-members: members may invite any number of guests to meetings of the Association, and non-members may attend without invitation; an additional guest fee of £5.00 is payable on booking for non-members, in addition to the standard fees. This can be avoided by joining the Association before booking.

Abstracts: are available to members who are unable to attend the meeting; please order using the booking form below.

Annual General Meeting: this is to be held on the afternoon of Tuesday 31st August. Items for the agenda should be sent to the Honorary Secretary (address below).

Communications with the membership

Website: the new LAGB website can be found at

Mailing list: please ensure that you have joined the LAGB mailing list, which is used for disseminating LAGB information and for consulting members quickly. You can subscribe by sending a message to, with the following as the body of the message: “subscribe lagb”.

Changes of address: members are reminded to notify the Membership Secretary (address below) of changes of address. An institutional address is preferred as bulk mailing saves us postage.

Future meetings

All meetings are held in late August or early September:

2005 University of Cambridge (31 August - 3 September, the Local Organisers will be Theresa Biberauer and Raffaella Folli).

2006 University of Newcastle upon Tyne [provisional]

The Meetings Secretary would very much like to receive offers of future venues, particularly from institutions which the LAGB has not previously or recently visited.

Nominations for speakers, workshops and language tutorials (language and/or speaker) at future meetings are also requested; all suggestions should be sent to the Honorary Secretary. The nominations collected will be voted on by the membership at the Annual General Meeting, which is held as part of the annual meeting.

Conference grants

Members of the LAGB organising conferences on linguistics in the UK are invited to apply for grants of up to 300 pounds; conference publicity will in return have to state that the event is sponsored by the LAGB, and membership application forms should be enclosed in conference packs. Applications should be made to the President, ideally by e-mail to allow a quick response. A new application procedure for LAGB conference grants is to be discussed at the AGM; this envisages 3 deadlines for applications per year, with decisions on grants made directly after the deadline, and a set amount of funds to be allocated each time.

The LAGB committee

Professor April McMahon,
Department of English Language and Linguistics,
University of Sheffield,
5 Shearwood Road, Sheffield, S10 2TD.

Honorary Secretary
Dr Ad Neeleman,
Department of Phonetics and Linguistics,
University College London,
Gower Street, London, WC1E 6BT.

Membership Secretary
Dr Diane Nelson,
Department of Linguistics and Phonetics,
University of Leeds, Leeds, LS6 9JT .

Meetings Secretary
Dr Patrick Honeybone,
English Language, School of Philosophy , Psychology and Language Sciences,
University of Edinburgh, 14 Buccleuch Place, Edinburgh, EH8 9LN.

Dr Dunstan Brown,
Surrey Morphology Group, LCIS,
University of Surrey, Surrey GU2 7XH.

Assistant Secretary
Dr Katarzyna M. Jaszczolt,
Department of Linguistics, Faculty of Modern and Medieval Languages,
University of Cambridge, Sidgwick Avenue, Cambridge, CB3 9DA.

Nominations for committee member vacancy
The Membership Secretary is to step down from this year, so nominations are requested for a replacement. Also, the Honorary Secretary is coming to the end of his first term of office, but has indicated that he is willing to stand again, so he is the committee's nominee; nonetheless, alternative nominations for this position are also welcome. Any member may be nominated by any other member for either of these positions (and self-nominations are welcome); nominations should be sent to the President by 31st July 2004, and a vote will be taken at the AGM.