Anna Siewierska Prize

Every other year, the Linguistics Association of Great Britain runs a competition for the Anna Siewierska Prize, for the best essay by a PhD student or recent graduate on a topic in linguistics.

Entrants must be both:

  • current PhD students or recent graduates within one year of the award of their PhD (viva date) on the submission deadline; and
  • members of the association (an application for membership man be included with the submission).

Papers should be submitted to the President by the closing date. Entrants should also state their current course (including university and name of supervisor), and, in the case of recent graduates, the date of their PhD viva.

Submissions must be written in English and must not have been previously published. They should not exceed 10,000 words, including tables, figures, notes, appendices, references, etc., and may be shorter. Jointly authored submissions are acceptable, provided that all authors meet the criteria above. Authors should submit one anonymous and one named version of the submission.

The value of the prize is £500. Where there is more than one winner, it will be shared equally between the winners. The committee reserves the right not to award the prize if it feels that none of the submissions reach the necessary standard.

The winning entry will be posted on the LAGB’s website and will be forwarded by the committee with their endorsement to the Journal of Linguistics. However, no guarantee of publication in the Journal of Linguistics can be given, and the winning submission will be subject to the journal’s normal reviewing procedures.

In the interim the Philological Society runs a competition for the RH Robins Prize (the two prizes are awarded in alternating years). You can read about previous prizewinners and runners-up here:

The prize is awarded in memory of Anna Siewierska, who was an active and distinguished member of the LAGB until her tragic and untimely death in 2011.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software